Save $50 off $500+ at Signature Solar! Use code: GET50TGBATG Shop Now → Affiliate link — we may earn a commission.

EG4 Chargeverter GC vs Chargeverter Plus: Specifications Side by Side and What We Have Run

EG4's Chargeverter GC and Chargeverter Plus compared on EG4's own documents, with what we have run. Not a recommendation.

Last reviewed 2026-10-15.

This page records our own experience and what the manufacturer publishes. It is not guidance, instructions or advice. Batteries and mains electricity can cause serious injury, fire and death. Follow the manufacturer's current instructions and a licensed professional. Read the notice at the bottom of this page.

What the manufacturer documents

What happened to us

Specifications side by side

From EG4's documents: GC specification sheet version 1.0 and manual version 1.1.5, Plus specification sheet version 1.0 and manual version 1.0.3. Not our measurements.
SpecificationChargeverter GCChargeverter Plus
Model number printedCU-48|5000-GDCU-48-5000-OD-01
Charge current (adjustable)0 to 100 A at 240 V, 0 to 45 A at 120 V, 0 to 50 A at 208 V0 to 100 A at 240 V, 0 to 50 A at 120 V, 0 to 80 A at 208 V
Charge voltage (adjustable)43 to 57 V, default 54 V40 to 60 V; default 57 V in the manual (version 1.0.3), 40 V in the specification sheet (version 1.0)
Maximum output5120 W at 240 V, 3050 W at 120 V5120 W at 240 V, 2560 W at 120 V
Maximum efficiency94 percent at 240 V, 92 percent at 120 VNot listed
Output rippleNot listedLess than 500 mV (printed as 500mv)
Charge stages or profileNot describedNot described
AC input range, frequency90 to 264 V, 50 to 60 Hz90 to 264 V, 50 to 60 Hz
Maximum input current26 A at 240 V, 28 A at 120 V26 A at 240 V, 28 A at 120 V
Idle consumptionAbout 10 W (conditions not stated)About 4 W (conditions not stated)
Communication portRS485 on RJ45CAN/RS485 on RJ45, selectable protocols listed in the manual
Dry contactsNO, NC and C on RJ11NO, NC and C
Generator timing settingsBuilt-in cooldown of about 2 minutesPreheat 0 to 5 minutes, cooling 0 to 5 minutes, charging time 0 to 180 minutes
Protections as listedBuilt-in breaker; no list of protection conditionsBuilt-in breaker; PSU Fault indicator conditions listed (over-temperature, short-circuit, AC over- or under-voltage, fan failure, output over-voltage, module communication failure)
Operating temperature14 to 131 F (minus 10 to 55 C); mounting section says ambient 32 to 131 F (0 to 55 C)Minus 40 to 131 F (minus 40 to 55 C)
Storage temperature5 to 140 F (minus 15 to 60 C)Minus 40 to 158 F (minus 40 to 70 C)
Ingress protectionIP21IP54
Operating altitude0 to 4921 ft (0 to 1500 m)0 to 9843 ft (0 to 3000 m)
Dimensions H x W x D5 x 13.2 x 4.9 in (127 x 335 x 124 mm)4.3 x 16.1 x 7.1 in (110 x 410 x 180 mm)
Net weight13 lbs (5.9 kg)13.67 lbs (6.2 kg); mounting note says 6.4 kg
Certifications, noiseNot listedUL1012, FCC Class B; noise less than 65 dB
Warranty3 years, only when used indoors3 years, only when used indoors
Our own unit: model number, firmware, AC input voltage used, run historyNot recorded in the review. Whether this was the unit that later failed, and how long it ran before it stopped, are also not recordedNot recorded in the video. Use beyond the first charge shown is also not recorded

What we did not verify

Questions and answers

What charge current do EG4's documents list for each?

Both list up to 100 A at 240 V. At 120 V they list 45 A for the GC and 50 A for the Plus, and at 208 V 50 A for the GC and 80 A for the Plus.

Do the two list the same ingress rating?

No. The GC documents list IP21 and the Plus documents list IP54. The Plus manual and the GC documents both list a 3-year warranty only when used indoors.

Do the documents list the same default charge voltage?

The GC documents list a default of 54 V. The Plus manual version 1.0.3 lists 57 V, while the Plus specification sheet version 1.0 lists 40 V.

Did you run both of them?

We reviewed a Chargeverter GC in 2024. Separately, the Chargeverter GC we later had stopped charging and was replaced with a Chargeverter Plus; whether it was the unit shown in the 2024 review is not recorded. We have not tested them side by side.

Is the Chargeverter Plus an upgrade over the GC?

We do not make that claim. The documents list different specifications, set out in the table, and whether either suits a particular system is for the owner and a licensed professional to decide.

Which one should I buy?

We do not make that recommendation. The specifications are listed above from EG4's documents, and the choice depends on your system, which a licensed professional can size.

Sources

Videos this comes from

Follow along

New troubleshooting notes and comparisons come from our videos. Subscribe on YouTube or join the Discord. We do not collect email addresses on this site.