Save $50 off $500+ at Signature Solar! Use code: GET50TGBATG Shop Now → Affiliate link — we may earn a commission.

Victron Phoenix Inverter 48/1200 vs MultiPlus-II 48/3000: Specifications and What We Ran

Victron lists the 48/1200 Phoenix at 1200 VA (1000 W at 25 C) and 2200 W peak, the MultiPlus-II 48/3000 at 3000 VA, 5500 W peak. Not a recommendation.

Last reviewed 2026-10-15.

This page records our own experience and what the manufacturer publishes. It is not guidance, instructions or advice. Batteries and mains electricity can cause serious injury, fire and death. Follow the manufacturer's current instructions and a licensed professional. Read the notice at the bottom of this page.

What the manufacturer documents

What happened to us

Specifications side by side

From Victron's Inverters VE.Direct datasheet (250 VA to 1600 VA, no version printed, file metadata dated 2025-12-09) and MultiPlus-II 120 V datasheet (no version printed), not our measurements. The last column says whether the two figures are like for like.
SpecificationVictron Phoenix Inverter 48/1200 (120 V, NEMA GFCI)Victron MultiPlus-II 48/3000/35-50 (120 V)Like for like?
Continuous output1200 VA at 25 C (77 F) (nonlinear load, crest factor 3:1); 1000 W at 25 C, 850 W at 40 C; no 65 C figure3000 VA at 25 C (77 F) per unit (non-linear load, crest factor 3:1); 2400 W at 25 C (77 F), 2200 W at 40 C (104 F), 1700 W at 65 C (150 F)Partly. Both give the same VA footnote; the Phoenix sheet gives watts at two temperatures and the MultiPlus-II at three.
Peak power2200 W, duration not stated5500 W, duration not statedPartly. Neither datasheet states a duration.
Output voltage and frequency120 VAC plus or minus 3 percent, 60 Hz plus or minus 0.1 percent (sheet: 230 or 120 VAC, 50 or 60 Hz, adjustable)120 VAC plus or minus 2 percent, 60 Hz plus or minus 0.1 percentYes. Same quantities; the voltage tolerances differ (3 percent against 2 percent).
DC input voltage range36.8 to 62.0 V (48 V models)38 to 66 VYes. The values differ (36.8 to 62.0 V against 38 to 66 V).
Efficiency and idle powerMaximum 92 percent; zero load 12 W, 3.0 W in ECO mode (default 2.5 s retry); no conditions statedMaximum 95 percent; zero load 11 W, 7 W in AES mode, 2 W in Search mode; no conditions statedPartly. Neither datasheet states conditions, the low-power modes are named differently, and no measurement of either unit is documented in our transcripts.
WaveformNot stated in the datasheet text we extractedNot stated in the datasheet text we extractedNot stated for either.
Protections listeda to f: output short circuit, overload, battery voltage too high, battery voltage too low, temperature too high, DC ripple too higha to g: the same six items (DC ripple worded as input voltage ripple too high) plus 120 VAC on inverter outputYes as lists. They differ by one item, and we have not checked how any protection behaves.
Operating temperature and enclosure-40 to +65 C with fan assisted cooling, derating 1.25 percent per C above 40 C; humidity up to 95 percent non-condensing; IP 21; steel chassis, plastic cover-40 to +60 C (-40 to 140 F) with fan-assisted cooling; humidity up to 95 percent non-condensing; IP22; steelYes for the ranges and ratings, which differ; only the Phoenix sheet states a derating, so that item has no counterpart.
Weight and size7.4 kg (16.3 lb); 117 x 232 x 327 mm (4.6 x 9.1 x 12.9 in), height x width x depth (the sheet gives 117 x 232 x 362 mm only as an exception for the 12 V model)19 kg (42 lb); 572 x 277 x 147 mm (22.5 x 10.9 x 5.8 in), height x width x depth, for the UL1741 listed model; 536 x 277 x 147 mm for a model that is not UL1741 certifiedYes. Both are stated per unit in the same measures.
Battery charger and AC inputNone listed in the datasheet text; Filax automatic transfer switch listed as an accessoryBuilt-in charger, maximum 35 A (up to 25 C / 75 F ambient); one AC input 90 to 140 VAC, 50 A transfer switchNo. The products are different kinds of device.
CommunicationVE.Direct port; smartphone connection with the separately ordered VE.Direct Bluetooth Smart dongleVE.Bus communication port; general purpose communication port (2x)No. Different communication ports with different functions.
Listings and safetyEN-IEC 60335-1, EN-IEC 62109-1, UL 458 (only for inverters with a GFCI output socket); EMC and ECE R10-4 also listedEN-IEC 60335-1, EN-IEC 60335-2-29, CSA 22.2 107.1-16; UL1741 in the listings row for this modelYes as lists. The datasheets list different standards and we have not seen certificates.

What we did not verify

Questions and answers

How much lower is the Phoenix 48/1200 rating than the MultiPlus-II 48/3000?

Victron's datasheets list 1200 VA (1000 W at 25 C, 850 W at 40 C) for the Phoenix 48/1200 and 3000 VA (2400 W at 25 C, 2200 W at 40 C) for the MultiPlus-II 48/3000, with peak power of 2200 W and 5500 W. We did not measure either against its rating.

Does the Phoenix charge the battery like the MultiPlus-II?

The Phoenix datasheet text lists no charger or AC input, while the MultiPlus-II datasheet lists a built-in charger of up to 35 A for the 48/3000. In our video we said the Phoenix only inverts and cannot charge the battery.

What did you see when you loaded the Phoenix?

With a heat gun, the Victron app showed roughly 500 to 600 VA and then close to about 1200 VA on the 48 V unit, and about 1,000 to 1,300 VA on a 12 V Phoenix. All were approximate, spoken, untimed readings, so they do not show a sustained rating.

Which one should I buy?

We do not make that recommendation. Their specifications are listed above, and the right choice depends on your loads and system, which a licensed professional can size.

Sources

Videos this comes from

Related topics

Follow along

New troubleshooting notes and comparisons come from our videos. Subscribe on YouTube or join the Discord. We do not collect email addresses on this site.