Save $50 off $500+ at Signature Solar! Use code: GET50TGBATG Shop Now → Affiliate link — we may earn a commission.

Victron MultiPlus-II 48/3000 vs EG4 3000EHV-48: Specifications and What We Have Run

The Victron MultiPlus-II 48/3000 (120 V) and EG4 3000EHV-48 on each maker's own datasheet, with what we have run on both. Not a recommendation.

Last reviewed 2026-10-13.

This page records our own experience and what the manufacturer publishes. It is not guidance, instructions or advice. Batteries and mains electricity can cause serious injury, fire and death. Follow the manufacturer's current instructions and a licensed professional. Read the notice at the bottom of this page.

What the manufacturer documents

What happened to us

Specifications side by side

From Victron's MultiPlus-II 120 V datasheet (no version printed) and EG4's 3000EHV-48 sheet (version 1.1.2), not our measurements. The last column says whether the two figures are like for like.
SpecificationVictron MultiPlus-II 48/3000/35-50 (120 V)EG4 3000EHV-48Like for like?
Continuous output3000 VA at 25 C (77 F) per unit (non-linear load, crest factor 3:1); 2400 W at 25 C (77 F), 2200 W at 40 C (104 F), 1700 W at 65 C (150 F)Rated 3 kVA / 3 kW; the sheet states no temperature for this ratingPartly. Victron states the temperature for each figure, including the 3000 VA rating, and EG4 does not. All figures are per inverter.
Peak or surge outputPeak power 5500 W, duration not statedSurge 2 times rated power for 5 s; overload 5 s at about 150 percent load, 10 s at 110 to 150 percentNo. The two sheets define the figure differently.
Output voltage and frequency120 VAC plus or minus 2 percent, 60 Hz plus or minus 0.1 percent110/120 VAC plus or minus 5 percent, 60 Hz or 50 HzComparable nominal output; the sheets state different tolerances.
Battery voltageDC input voltage range 38 to 66 VNominal 48 VDC; low DC cut-off 38.4 to 42.0 V depending on load; overcharge protection 63 V; no operating range statedNo. Victron states a range; EG4 states a nominal value and trip points.
Battery charge current35 A maximum (up to 25 C / 75 F ambient); absorption 57.6 V, float 55.2 V60 A from AC and 80 A from PV and AC together (at 120 VAC input); bulk 58.4 V flooded or 56.4 V AGM or gel, float 54 VPartly. The EG4 80 A figure includes solar charging, which the Victron has no input for.
AC input90 to 140 VAC, 55 to 65 Hz; maximum AC input current 50 A; transfer switch 50 A95 to 140 VAC for electronics, 65 to 140 VAC for home appliances; 50 or 60 Hz automatic; 30 A circuit breaker listed in line mode; no maximum AC input current statedPartly. EG4 does not list a maximum AC input current.
Transfer timeLess than 20 ms10 ms typical (UPS setting), 20 ms typical (Appliances setting)Partly. Victron gives a limit and EG4 gives typical values per setting.
Built-in solar inputNone listed; the datasheet describes use with separate solar charge controllers or grid-tie invertersOne MPPT, 5000 W rated, 500 VDC maximum open circuit, MPPT range 120 to 450 VDC, 80 A maximum PV charging currentNo. Only the EG4 has a built-in solar charge controller.
Idle consumptionZero load power 11 W (7 W in AES mode, 2 W in Search mode); no other conditions statedUnder 70 W; no conditions statedNo. Neither sheet gives comparable test conditions, and no measurement of either unit is documented in the transcripts.
EfficiencyMaximum 95 percentBattery to inverter 94 percent, PV to inverter 97 percent; line mode entry shows 95 percent with an unreadable character before it in the sheet, whose meaning we could not verify (rated resistive load, battery fully charged)No. The sheets define efficiency differently, and the EG4 line mode entry is partly unreadable.
Operating temperature and altitude-40 to +60 C (-40 to 140 F), fan-assisted cooling; no altitude limit listed-10 to 55 C (14 to 131 F); 0 to 1500 mPartly. Victron lists no altitude.
Weight and size19 kg (42 lb); 572 x 277 x 147 mm (22.5 x 10.9 x 5.8 in), listed in the order height, width, depth, for the UL1741 listed model; the datasheet gives 536 x 277 x 147 mm for a model that is not UL1741 certified8.2 kg (18 lb); 420 x 340 x 142 mm (16.5 x 13.4 x 5.6 in), labelled in the order depth, width, height, on the specification page, while the first page gives 17 in tall, 11.75 in wide and 4 in deepYes for weight. EG4's sheet gives two different size sets and we have not resolved them.
Ingress ratingIP22IP 21 (indoor use)Yes
WarrantyNot stated on the datasheet we cite3 yearsNo. We did not check Victron's separate warranty terms.
Certifications as listedUL1741 in the listings row for this model; the datasheet also lists CSA 22.2 107.1-16 among its safety standardsSafety certification listed as CENo. The sheets list different things and we have not seen certificates.
Units in parallelUp to 6; two same-model units for 240 V split phaseUp to 12 (12 single phase, 2 x 6 split phase, 3 x 4 three phase)Partly. The counts depend on topology and are not the same measure: EG4's 12 is a total split among single, split and three phase arrangements, while Victron describes parallel, same-model split phase and three phase sets separately.

What we did not verify

Questions and answers

Does the Victron MultiPlus-II have a solar charge controller?

Not built in. Victron's datasheet lists no solar input for it and describes using it with separate solar charge controllers or grid-tie inverters. EG4's sheet lists a built-in MPPT for the 3000EHV-48.

Which one has the higher continuous output?

The sheets do not compare cleanly. Victron lists 3000 VA at 25 C and 2400 W at 25 C, falling to 1700 W at 65 C, per unit. EG4 lists 3 kVA / 3 kW per unit and states no temperature for it.

How fast do they switch to battery?

Victron lists less than 20 milliseconds. EG4 lists 10 ms typical in its UPS setting and 20 ms typical in its Appliances setting. Our transcripts document no measurement of either.

Do both products have the same warranty?

EG4's sheet lists 3 years. Victron's datasheet does not state a warranty, and we did not check Victron's separate warranty terms.

Which should I buy?

We do not make that recommendation. Their specifications are listed above, and the right choice depends on your loads and system, which a licensed professional can size.

Sources

Videos this comes from

Related topics

Follow along

New troubleshooting notes and comparisons come from our videos. Subscribe on YouTube or join the Discord. We do not collect email addresses on this site.