Save $50 off $500+ at Signature Solar! Use code: GET50TGBATG Shop Now → Affiliate link — we may earn a commission.

Victron MultiPlus-II 12/3000 vs 48/3000: Specifications and What We Have Run

Victron's 2x120 V 12/3000 and 120 V 48/3000 datasheet columns side by side, with what we have run on each. Not a recommendation.

Last reviewed 2026-10-13.

This page records our own experience and what the manufacturer publishes. It is not guidance, instructions or advice. Batteries and mains electricity can cause serious injury, fire and death. Follow the manufacturer's current instructions and a licensed professional. Read the notice at the bottom of this page.

What the manufacturer documents

What happened to us

Specifications side by side

From two different Victron sheets (neither prints a version or date): the 2x120 V datasheet for the 12 V column and the conventional 120 V datasheet for the 48 V column. Not our measurements. The last column says whether the figures match.
SpecificationVictron MultiPlus-II 12/3000/120-50 (2x120 V sheet)Victron MultiPlus-II 48/3000/35-50 (120 V sheet)Same or different
Datasheet and column used2x120 V sheet, 12/3000/120-50 columnConventional 120 V sheet, 48/3000/35-50 columnTwo different Victron sheets. Our 12 V unit is described on camera as a 2x120 V model; its exact model label and batch were not recorded.
AC input arrangementSplit phase 180 to 280 VAC or single phase 90 to 140 VAC, 55 to 65 Hz; charging power drawn from L190 to 140 VAC, 55 to 65 HzDifferent. The 2x120 V sheet describes a split phase input option; the conventional sheet lists 90 to 140 VAC.
Continuous output3000 VA at 25 C (77 F), non-linear load, crest factor 3:1; 2400 W at 25 C, 2200 W at 40 C (104 F), 1700 W at 65 C (150 F)Same figures and conditionsSame figures on the two sheets.
Peak power5500 W, duration not stated5500 W, duration not statedSame figures; neither states a duration.
Output voltage and frequency120 VAC plus or minus 2 percent, 60 Hz plus or minus 0.1 percent (inverter mode)120 VAC plus or minus 2 percent, 60 Hz plus or minus 0.1 percentSame.
DC input voltage range9.5 to 17 V38 to 66 VDifferent, as expected for 12 V and 48 V batteries.
Charge voltages (absorption / float / storage)14.4 V / 13.8 V / 13.2 V57.6 V / 55.2 V / 52.8 VDifferent. No battery chemistry is named.
Maximum battery charge current (DC)120 A (up to 75 F / 25 C ambient)35 A (up to 75 F / 25 C ambient)Different. Same ambient footnote.
Transfer switch and maximum AC input current50 A transfer switch; 50 A maximum AC input current on each leg50 A transfer switch; 50 A maximum AC input currentSame numbers, but the 2x120 V sheet states the input current per leg. These are AC input figures, not battery charge current.
Transfer timeL1 output less than 18 ms; L2 output approximately 40 msLess than 20 ms (statement for the sheet)Different statements. None of our videos documents a measurement.
Auxiliary output50 A on each leg; early production batch (serial numbers starting HQ2107) rated 35 A; switches off when no external AC source is available32 A; switches off when no external AC source is availableDifferent. The batch of our 12 V unit was not recorded.
PowerControl and PowerAssistYes, on L1 input; PowerAssist recharge on L1 input only; optional external current sensor to 100 AYes; optional external current sensor to 100 ASimilar; the 2x120 V sheet limits it to L1.
Maximum efficiency93 percent95 percentDifferent. No conditions stated for either.
Zero load power (normal / AES / Search)15 W / 10 W / 4 W11 W / 7 W / 2 WDifferent. No conditions stated; not documented in these videos.
Operating temperature and humidity-40 to +65 C (printed as -40 to 150 F), fan assisted cooling; humidity up to 95 percent non-condensing-40 to +60 C (-40 to 140 F), fan assisted cooling; humidity up to 95 percent non-condensingDifferent upper limits.
Protection categoryIP22IP22Same.
Weight22 kg (48 lb)19 kg (42 lb)Different.
Dimensions (height x width x depth, column order)578 x 275 x 148 mm (23 x 11 x 6 in)572 x 277 x 147 mm (22.5 x 10.9 x 5.8 in); sheet gives 536 x 277 x 147 mm for a model that is not UL1741 certifiedSlightly different.
Listings and standards as printedUL 458 among safety standards; no listings rowUL1741 in listings rowDifferent presentation; we have seen no certificates.
Units in parallel and multi-phaseUp to 6 in parallel; three same-model units for three phase; L2 disabled in multi-phase setups; no two-unit split phase arrangement mentionedUp to 6 in parallel; two same-model units for 240 V split phase; three for three phaseDifferent statements.
WarrantyNot printed on the sheetNot printed on the sheetWe did not check Victron's separate warranty terms.

What we did not verify

Questions and answers

Do the 12/3000 and 48/3000 have the same continuous output?

On Victron's datasheets, yes: both columns list 3000 VA at 25 C (77 F), and 2400 W, 2200 W and 1700 W at 25, 40 and 65 C. Both list peak power of 5500 W with no duration stated.

What is different between the two columns?

The sheets list a different DC input range (9.5 to 17 V against 38 to 66 V), different charge voltages, maximum charge current of 120 A against 35 A, maximum efficiency of 93 percent against 95 percent, zero load power of 15 W against 11 W, weight of 22 kg against 19 kg, and different transfer time, auxiliary output and AC input statements.

What do L1 and L2 mean on the 2x120 V sheet?

The sheet describes them as the two lines of a split phase 120/240 V source (or a single phase 120 V source on L1). It says battery charging power is drawn from L1, and that in invert mode both output lines are connected together to give 120 VAC.

Does the datasheet say how long the peak power lasts?

No. Both sheets list 5500 W peak power for these models and state no duration.

Which one should I buy?

We do not make that recommendation. The specifications are listed above, and the right choice depends on your loads and system, which a licensed professional can assess.

Sources

Videos this comes from

Related topics

Follow along

New troubleshooting notes and comparisons come from our videos. Subscribe on YouTube or join the Discord. We do not collect email addresses on this site.