Save $50 off $500+ at Signature Solar! Use code: GET50TGBATG Shop Now → Affiliate link — we may earn a commission.

Victron Quattro 48/10000 vs MultiPlus-II 48/3000: Specifications and What We Have Run

Victron lists the 120 V Quattro 48/10000 at 10000 VA and 20000 W peak, the MultiPlus-II 48/3000 at 3000 VA and 5500 W. Not a recommendation.

Last reviewed 2026-10-13.

This page records our own experience and what the manufacturer publishes. It is not guidance, instructions or advice. Batteries and mains electricity can cause serious injury, fire and death. Follow the manufacturer's current instructions and a licensed professional. Read the notice at the bottom of this page.

What the manufacturer documents

What happened to us

Specifications side by side

From Victron's Quattro 120 V datasheet (3 to 10 kVA, no version printed, file metadata dated 2026-04-14) and MultiPlus-II 120 V datasheet (no version printed), not our measurements. The last column says whether the two figures are like for like.
SpecificationVictron Quattro 48/10000/140-100/100 (120 V)Victron MultiPlus-II 48/3000/35-50 (120 V)Like for like?
Continuous output10000 VA at 25 C (77 F) (non-linear load, crest factor 3:1); 8000 W at 25 C (77 F), 6500 W at 40 C (104 F), 4500 W at 65 C (150 F)3000 VA at 25 C (77 F) per unit (non-linear load, crest factor 3:1); 2400 W at 25 C (77 F), 2200 W at 40 C (104 F), 1700 W at 65 C (150 F)Yes. Both datasheets state the temperature and the VA footnote for each figure, per unit.
Peak power20000 W, duration not stated5500 W, duration not statedPartly. Neither datasheet states a duration, so the two figures are defined the same way but not fully.
Output voltage and frequency120 VAC plus or minus 2 percent, 60 Hz plus or minus 0.1 percent120 VAC plus or minus 2 percent, 60 Hz plus or minus 0.1 percentYes
DC input voltage range38 to 66 V38 to 66 VYes
Battery charge current and voltages140 A maximum (up to 25 C ambient); absorption 57.6 V, float 55.2 V, storage 52.8 V35 A maximum (up to 25 C / 75 F ambient); absorption 57.6 V, float 55.2 V, storage 52.8 VYes
AC inputsTwo AC inputs (90 to 140 VAC, 55 to 65 Hz, power factor 1 each) with integrated transfer switch; maximum feed through current 2 x 100 AOne AC input (90 to 140 VAC, 55 to 65 Hz); transfer switch 50 A; maximum AC input current 50 ANo. The Quattro has two inputs, and the two datasheets word the current rating differently (feed through current against transfer switch and maximum input current).
Transfer timeLess than 20 ms (main output)Less than 20 ms (main output)Yes
Auxiliary output50 A; switches off when no external AC source is available32 A; switches off when no external AC source is availableYes, as stated by each datasheet.
Efficiency and idle powerMaximum 96 percent; zero load 60 W, 40 W in AES mode, 15 W in Search mode; no conditions statedMaximum 95 percent; zero load 11 W, 7 W in AES mode, 2 W in Search mode; no conditions statedPartly. Neither datasheet states conditions, and no measurement of either unit is documented in our transcripts.
Operating temperature and enclosure-40 to +65 C; humidity up to 95 percent non-condensing; IP 21; aluminium-40 to +60 C (-40 to 140 F) with fan-assisted cooling; humidity up to 95 percent non-condensing; IP22; steelPartly. The temperature ranges and enclosure ratings are not identical.
Weight and size128 lb (58 kg); 572 x 488 x 344 mm (22.6 x 19.2 x 13.6 in), height x width x depth; the weight and size row is laid out unevenly in the document19 kg (42 lb); 572 x 277 x 147 mm (22.5 x 10.9 x 5.8 in), height x width x depth, for the UL1741 listed model; the datasheet gives 536 x 277 x 147 mm for a model that is not UL1741 certifiedYes for the measures. The Quattro row of the datasheet is laid out unevenly.
Battery connectionFour M8 bolts (two plus and two minus)2 M8 boltsYes, as stated by each datasheet.
Split phase, three phase and parallelTwo units for split phase, three for three phase; up to 4 sets of three in parallel (120 kVA, more than 1600 A charging quoted); no single phase parallel count in the textUp to 6 units in parallel; two same-model units for 240 V split phase; three for three phase; up to 6 sets of three in parallelPartly. The two datasheets describe parallel operation differently and we have not compared them further.
Listings and safetyUL 1741 listed for the 48 V 5 kVA and 10 kVA models; also EN-IEC 60335-1, EN-IEC 62109-1UL1741 in the listings row for this model; also EN-IEC 60335-1, CSA 22.2 107.1-16No. The datasheets list different standards and we have not seen certificates.

What we did not verify

Questions and answers

How much higher is the Quattro's continuous output than the MultiPlus-II's?

Victron's datasheets list 10000 VA (8000 W) at 25 C for the 120 V Quattro 48/10000 and 3000 VA (2400 W) at 25 C for the MultiPlus-II 48/3000, per unit, with different figures at 40 C and 65 C. We did not measure either against its rating.

Does the MultiPlus-II have two AC inputs like the Quattro?

No. Victron's Quattro datasheet describes two AC inputs with an integrated transfer switch. The MultiPlus-II datasheet describes one AC input and two AC outputs.

What did you see when you loaded the Quattro?

Readings of roughly 8,000 W, about 9,500 W and a little over 11,000 W, all approximate and read from a Cerbo GX screen, with shutdowns and alarms. On camera we attributed the shutdown at about 9,500 W to the battery; the owner has since said it was the Quattro's overload. No exact timed duration or temperature was recorded, so they do not show a sustained rating.

Can a 120 V Quattro give 240 V?

Victron's datasheet says two Quattro units can be configured for split phase. In one video we ran one 120 V Quattro through a Victron auto transformer for 240 V and 120 V loads. The owner says it was the higher-amperage, US version; the model number and its limits are not recorded here, and this is not a method.

Which one should I buy?

We do not make that recommendation. Their specifications are listed above, and the right choice depends on your loads and system, which a licensed professional can size.

Sources

Videos this comes from

Related topics

Follow along

New troubleshooting notes and comparisons come from our videos. Subscribe on YouTube or join the Discord. We do not collect email addresses on this site.